Wednesday, April 25, 2018


The EPA has given notice to dozens of scientists that they will not be renewed in their roles in advising the agency...Members of the EPA’s Board of Scientific Counselors (BOSC) whose terms end in August will not see them renewed, says The Washington Post... five meetings of subcommittees of the board, planned for the late summer and the fall, will now be canceled because of lack of membership...

“It effectively wipes out the BOSC and leaves it free for a complete reappointment,” said Deborah Swackhamer, the current chair of the board’s executive committee and an emeritus professor of environmental health sciences at the University of Minnesota.

Per §102-3.55 of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, the Federal Advisory Committee for the Sustained National Climate Assessment (Committee) charter expired on August 20, 2017. The Department of Commerce and NOAA appreciate the efforts of the Committee and offer sincere thanks to each of the Committee members for their service.

Ms. Maxine Burkett, Professor of Law, University of Hawai'i William S. Richardson School of Law
Dr. Riley Dunlap, Regents Professor of Sociology and Dresser Professor, Oklahoma State University
Dr. Kim Knowlton, Senior Scientist, Science Center Deputy Director, Natural Resources Defense Council and Assistant Clinical Professor, Mailman School of Public Health, Columbia University
Dr. Richard Moss, Senior Scientist, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory's Joint Global Change Research Institute at the University of Maryland, Committee Chair
Dr. Jessica Whitehead, Coastal Communities Hazards Adaptation Specialist, North Carolina Sea Grant
Dr. Susan Avery, President Emerita, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Ms. Jan Dell, Vice President - Clean Energy, Water & Climate, Wood Group
Mr. Paul Fleming, Climate Resiliency Group Manager, Seattle Public UtilitiesDr. Jerry Melillo, Distinguished Scientist and Director Emeritus, The Ecosystems Center, Marine Biological Laboratory
Dr. Michael Prather, Professor of Earth System Science, University of California, Irvine
Ms. Ann Marie Chischilly, Executive Director, Northern Arizona University-Institute for Tribal Environmental Professionals
Dr. Lucas Joppa, Lead Environmental Scientist, Microsoft Research
Dr. Maria Carmen Lemos, Professor of Natural Resources and Environment, University of Michigan School of Natural Resources and Environment
Ms. Kristen Poppleton, Director of Education, Climate Generation - a Will Steger Legacy
Mr. Daniel Zarrilli, Senior Director, Climate Policy and Programs, and Chief Resilience Officer, New York City Office of the Mayor